More Quilts this summer

hand embroidered finished may 2015Table runner with fabric from Mary LaBoubeEdward, Emil, and Edgar Gnome DSCN3697Handprint quiltThought I’d post a few pictures of recent finishes.   The whale pillow top is hand embroidered and outline was from a free site on the internet.

The Dresden Plate table runner is made from fabric given to me from a friend who purchased it in Europe while enjoying a cruise down the Danube.

Gnomes are in this post by accident, have already posted them.  If you ever see the book Gnome Project by Jessica Piell-Meininghaus, do pick it up.  A fun read and great instructions for making your own gnomes.  They can become addictive and you may want to make many.  And as I am making mine, their stories just happen.  Great fun!

The Kaleidoscope quilt is being donated to my church for a raffle to raise funds to be used for many worthy projects.

Last quilt was made for my mother and contains the handprints of all her great grandchildren.  Had 2 extra spaces so those have paw prints representing her “great grand dogs”!!

I’ve been doing quite a bit of hand quilting this summer and am happy to be back doing this.  Very relaxing, love slowing down to do this, listening to books on tape, enjoying the peace and warm weather.  I’m piecing a scrappy 16 patch block quilt in 30’s and 40”s reproduction fabrics, using all I have in my stash.  May have to go out and get more as the blocks I have completed will not make a large enough quilt.

Happy Quilting

Leave a Reply

