Selvedge Star Block

I’ve been saving selvedges for quite some time now.   I did finish one  selvedge quilt about 5 years ago and decided to start another to put on the twin beds in the guest room.   I have many 6.5 inch blocks completed and at the suggestion of one of my guild chapter members, I’m going to make this a star quilt.   I’m attaching a picture of the first completed block.   These 12 inch blocks will be placed with larger 24 inch blocks and sashing.   I probably won’t decide placement until I see how many blocks I end up with.   Like most of my quilts, the finished size will be whatever it is after I run out of fabric or blocks!  Haven’t decided what fabric will be used as sashing yet, either.

Last month our chapter of the Pine Tree Quilt Guild, Coastal Quilters, had Amy Friend as our guest speaker.  She has a new book, Intentional Piecing, and brought some of the quilts from that to show.   One of the quilts was a selvedge quilt in a rectangular arrangement that I would love to try.   She has a blog, duringquiettime, and some great examples of her work.   Second time I have heard her speak and I thoroughly enjoyed both lectures.

 

 

selvedge star

Leave a Reply

