Acorns and Quilts

felted-acorns-2dscn6819This little felted acorn collection keeps growing!   They are so easy to do in the evening while listening to a book on CD or watching TV.  Love how they look in a bowl.

I was going through my quilting supplies, looking for items to donate to our quilt chapter auction that is coming up on Saturday and found left over blocks from a quilt I made in 2005.   There were not enough for a throw, but plenty to make a runner.   I don’t often use these colors anymore, but still love the fabrics so decided to do something with the blocks.  I just ” stitched in the ditch” as I wanted a quick finish.

Almost finished with the Farmer’s Wife blocks and will post the latest ones at a later date.  Thirteen to go and I’ll have them completed.  One of the members of the group I am in that is working on this is starting to put her rows together and it looks incredible.  She used batiks for her blocks.   These 5 quilts will all look so different!   I have come to love the precision of foundation paper piecing.

Our next project as a small group is going to be Tula Pink’s City Sampler quilt.    These will be much easier to piece, but the variety should give us wonderful quilts.  Nice to be involved with such a varied and talented and sharing group!

Leave a Reply

