Three more old projects done

IMG_20200113_124215_824

So far I have about 6 old WIP’s finished!   The pillow is going to a niece who commented on it on Facebook–nice to know it will go to someone who really likes it.

The quilt on the left is a disappearing nine patch, One of the members of our Georges Valley Quilt group gave a workshop on the block at one of our meetings and I have so many nine patches that I made many years ago and I cut some of those up to make this quilt.

Last quilt is a simple scrap quilt with homespuns that seem to have accumulated over the years.   I put an embroidered pumpkin block in the quilt and now it is one of my favorites to wrap up in on a cold winter evening!   I used to work a lot in greens and browns–fall colors– and over the past few years have been using brighter colors.  But I still love the fall colors and found a stack of snowball blocks in shades of green, brown, and neutrals that I have finally put together in a quilt top and that is ready to quilt.   My next WIP to finish!

The only new thing I am working on is the Sugaridoo Row QAL.  I am enjoying that and especially seeing the pictures of other participants rows posted on facebook or instagram.  I think this fits my “finish old projects” goal because I signed up for it in 2019!

 

4 thoughts on “Three more old projects done

  1. Hi Ann! Yippee to getting the dust off those older projects – we want to be sensitive and not call them old. I adore the disappearing nine-patch – the colors and just that it’s a nine-patch win me over every time. Woot woot to three more finishes! ~smile~ Roseanne

  2. I found your blog while I was looking into the MQG in midcoast Maine. I’m 3 years from retirement, an avid quilter and already have our retirement home in Rockport. I can’t wait to have time to finish my oh so many projects! I would love to hear about your journey. Please feel free to enlighten me! nancyso9999@gmail.com

    1. I retired up here 8 years ago and the quilting community is very welcoming. We have the Coastal Quilters chapter of the Pine Tree Guild here in Camden, as well as the Mt. Battie Modern Quilt Guild, formed about 2 years ago. Mt Battie also has a website that you may enjoy exploring. Midcoast Maine is a wonderful place to live and out of all of our moves, this is definitely my favorite –and last! Once a month during the summer CQ has a “sit and sew”, where we just get together and work on whatever we feel like doing for the morning and if you are around, let me know and you may want to join us. We meet at the Lion’s Club in Camden. Our regular meetings run from September to June on the second Saturday of the month. Mt. Battie meets on the 4th Thursday of the month 6-8 pm.

Leave a comment